1979 Pontiac Trans Am – my 3rd

Posted: July 12, 2006 in Cars, Misc., My Opinion, Reviews

This car was a lot of fun.  I bought it from the kid who had the 70’s LeMans.  It was at this time that I learned he was not a very good mechanic.  The electrical system was a hack job, the body was rotting, the air filter constantly fell off, the electric windows sometimes worked and sometimes didn’t, there was a hole in the gast tank, the headers gaskets were trash and the interior was a pit.  It was probably the best $1000 I ever spent.  I loved this car and was proud to drive it around.  Although I didn’t do much to it during the short time I had it, I had dreams for it.  I did learn how to replace the header gaskets, which actually made a huge difference in how the car ran, but aside from that, nothing.  Thinking back, these cars (I’m inclduing camaros of the same era) were and probably still are a dime a dozen.  I should have saved the extra $500 to get something ten times better, but I act on impulse and I had to have the car.  The only advice I can really give is to make sure you have it checked out by someone you trust.  These cars can be very powerful, very fast and very cool but there is nothing cool about it stalling in the middle of route 1.  There is nothing cool about the water pump crapping out while you are drving home from work in the 90 degree heat.  There is nothing cool about a car with no ac and windows that won’t go down, in the middle of the summer.  It was fun though and I don’t have any regrets.  Maybe someday I’ll buy a nice one.  Maybe someday I’ll buy something nicer.  Check out the pics below, again, these are not of my car.  Just some I found that looked nice.

white-ta.jpg                 interior-white-ta.jpg                 pont7901.jpg

Comments
  1. Jenna says:

    Hey How are ya? My name is Jenna and I have a Trans am too I love that style car. I love the smokey adn the bandit movies too. Mine is a 79 bandit style. Are you guys like an organization? Well I love your cars too.I’d like to hear back from you if you could please just e-mail me at the address listed. Thank you, JENNA

  2. OnyxInferno says:

    Hi Jenna,
    I am not affiliated with any organization and again, these are not pics of the TA that I once owned, I found these on the internet. I do still love this style car and hope to have another some day. Good luck with your car and feel free to post comments related to TAs as well as any other cars or areas of interest in this site.

Leave a Reply

